Texture added to Mixed Media and Acrylic

I have been doing mixed media for quite some time now and I often do watercolor for a while and then acrylic for a while. I guess I am on the acrylic side of the equation at the moment. I have been working on adding more interest to the background using new tools that I make or repoupose myself. This painting started with modeling paste into which I put down a texture with a roller that I made out of a mailing tube. After painting on it in colors I like, I decided to try to make it look like an old fashioned treasure map. With that in mind, I drew solid and dotted lines and then added collage and my image of the ship. It was a fun journey to take and that is what I decided to call it. “Journey”

Journey

Then I started a bunch of backgrounds with different textures. These are not done yet, but are going different directions right from the beginning! I am trying to add different textures to the background using joint compound or modeling paste. This is where they are now:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by terryhonstead on August 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
