Work In Progress

I know I haven’t blogged in a while. Life has been busy at the start of summer! I have started two new mixed media paintings. I am thinking I will do flowers or leaves or trees of some kind and want to make them similar to each other so they could hang as a set. I just finished the first layer of that.

Then to see what my big project is, I have taken a picture of the floor cloths that I am working on. They are not much to see yet, but a lot of work has gone into them to get them this far!! I first put several layers of gesso on them on both sides and then white paint on both sides. After that I put a sealer on the back. The sides were all marked with 1 in. lines and then cut and folded and rolled with a rolling pin. Then the edges were all glued down and clamped to hold them while they dried. This is where I am at the moment. Now I can start the fun part. So far, at every step I have had to order or run around town to find one more thing that I needed…..even after I thought I had it all to start with. I looked up the history of floor cloths and they were quite common in the 18th and 19th century. They can be laid on wood, tile, or even dirt floors. They took the place of today’s linoleum or carpet. They are long lasting and easy to clean and can be used under tables, chairs, etc. When linoleum came out, they kind of went by the wayside.

~ by terryhonstead on June 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
