Pops and Penguin

I did get the penguin done. I did a variety of techniques on it. but I kept it pretty simple. I thought I would show you how that turned out. I used black tissue paper for the black part and I kind of like the texture that made. I used a silver that I added to glass bead gel for the stencils on the black back. That was quite a chore. Trying to do a flat stencil on a bowling pin! Glad it is done. It is rather plain but I wanted it to be sort of like that. I thought the silver glitzed it up a little without making it too gaudy. And then I added a silver bow tie to go along with it!

I have been working on my sucker painting today. I am having a lot of fun with it so far. I like using the bright colors and the pops are now starting to look like what they are, so it is fun to see it unfold. I am not really sure how I want to do the background. When I took the picture, it had a white tabletop and a dark gray background. I might do it similar. I like the combination of both light and dark and I really don’t want to add any more colors. I really have enough color in it already! Then there is the matter of the shadows on the light colored sticks. I am not real sure what color I want to do those either. So, I am following Jane Freeman’s advise. When in doubt, do what you know first! Hopefully when I get further along, I will have more of an idea of what I want to do.

I am also still thinking about the bike, but I do have an idea of what I want to do now. Just not sure it will work out so I am putting it off by doing the easier sucker painting! I will finish it eventually though! Don’t give up on me just yet!

~ by terryhonstead on May 13, 2011.

3 Responses to “Pops and Penguin”

  1. Give up? Never. The penquin is very classy and your patience shows. The pop painting will be absolutely stunning when you finished. I can clearly see the potential.

  2. Hi Terry, Just another idea. For inspiration you might check our this Indiana artist. She has won several awards based on paintings of marbles, jacks and toys. She stays with a white background but achieves tremendous color and movement in the shadows.
    http://www.joycekjensen.com/toys.html

  3. Linda, Joyce is a wonderful artist. I really did enjoy looking at her artwork and I do like the look! I have been thinking of doing a series on still life paintings like this one if it turns out as I hope! Thanks for the encouragement and inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

 
