Memories of The Past….The Violin

I think I may be done with this painting. I might still see a few small spots that need fixing, but at the moment I think I am finished. I added some darks to it especially to ground the violin, and tried to put in more values. I also tried to get out a few whites that I accidentally covered up. When I couldn’t get them out enough, I resorted to using a little chinese white on the glass and on the violin strings. I will still need to go over the painting again to see if there are any mistakes that I need to correct, but besides that, I do feel done. This is the violin that my great grandfather made. It has been in my family for a long time. It needs repair, but even with that, it hold memories of those who came before us, and it is for that reason that I wanted to paint it!

~ by terryhonstead on April 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
