Violins and Pelicans WIP

I have been working on these again today and am very happy with the progress. I did not work on the mixed media piece, but have decided that I want to add a bow to it. I am just not sure exactly how I want to go about it so it is on the back burner for now. The watercolor violin got more detail. I had to put back in the lines because so many glazes had pretty much taken them all the way out and I think they add a lot to the violine. I also tried to brighten some more with quinacridone dark gold. I also darkened the shadow to the front and right of the lace to take attention away from that area.

The ground of the pelican painting was exciting to begin because I used a new color, Tiger’s Eye Genuine. I love the way it granulates out and really looks like sand. I am not done with the sand, but it is a good start. I am excited to see how it progresses.

~ by terryhonstead on April 1, 2011.

One Response to “Violins and Pelicans WIP”

  1. I am very impressed with your skill and patience when putting in detail. The violin will be remarkable when it is finished. Good start on the other painting. Can’t wait to see how it developes.

Leave a Reply

 
