The enjoyment of wine

I finished my first painting. After I was done with the watercolor, I was still not satisfied with the grapes. So I decided to use colored pencils on them. I did the grapes with pencils and also the glass bowl with them as well. I am now much happier with the painting as it is now. The grapes have more of a glow and the glass seems better since it is darker. I just got myself these colored pencils, and I am really glad I did. The wine bottle and most of the glasses are watercolor.

Mixed media

~ by terryhonstead on March 13, 2011.

4 Responses to “The enjoyment of wine”

  1. I like the glow from the grapes. Did you use watercolor pencils or colored pencils? I used to be a purist but NO More. I love combining media. You can achieve such wonderful effects.

  2. I used regular colored pencils on the grapes. It was over the top of watercolor. Not sure if that makes a difference or not. I liked the way it looked too!!

  3. You have done a most exquisite painting here my friend, I can see that there is much talent in the recesses of WordPress. Do have a wonderful start to your week and remember, be creative…

    Androgoth

  4. Absolutely beautiful still life. Use anything you need to bring your vision to life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
