Italian Waters #2 progressing and still life contemplated

I did have some time today to paint. I worked on the wood poles and then started on the boats. I started with lightly blocking in the tarps that cover the boats. I didn’t actually work a long time today, but you can see a big difference.

Work In Progress for water and boats

Along with that, I also set up some still life shots and took pictures for a couple of hours while the light was right. I got a few that might work and thought you might like to see some of them. I am not sure which one I will do, if any. I do have a class coming up where I am going to need to paint a still life and these are some of my ideas for that. I am sure I took 400+ pictures of the still life set ups and details of each one. I could only do it for about 2 hours because after that, the light was gone and I started getting pictures that didn’t have the zing of some of these. There are some others that I am thinking about as well as these. Some would be great on a 22 x 30 sheet of watercolor paper and some, I think will be better on about an 11 x 15. I am excited to get started because I think some of them will make great paintings, that will be fun to do!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by terryhonstead on February 19, 2011.

One Response to “Italian Waters #2 progressing and still life contemplated”

  1. Wow. Great shots for still life ideas. Love the one with the violin and the one with the books.

Leave a Reply

 
