Snow Scene

I have been working on a picture of two boys out in the snow playing today. I still have some to go , but I thought I would post a picture anyway. It is the first time that I have actually done snow and with watercolor it is like painting everything backwards to me. But it is a challenge that I thought I would like to try! My mind actually wants to build the trees first and then the leaves/needles and save the snow for last, but with watercolor, that is not how it works. You have to save out the areas that are going to be white first and then paint around them or put some masking fluid on the areas that are going to be left white. On top of that, I am using a different support than what I am used to. I am using multimedia artboard instead of watercolor paper. It handles differently than paper. It doesn’t soak in as much so it is a challenge in itself. What was I thinking? ;-} Anyway, here is a picture of it so far today.

Shaking the tree

~ by terryhonstead on January 24, 2011.

3 Responses to “Snow Scene”

  1. So far so good! You are making excellent progress.

  2. It looks good already!

Leave a Reply

 
