Christmas Baby

I just thought I would post a picture of the painting that I just finished of my grandson. He looks so peaceful! I worked on it yesterday and today and had a lot of trouble with the skin tones. I really wanted to make it darker, but when I tried, it just looked dirty, not darker. So I quit while I was ahead. The color is a lot different than the picture I got it from, but actually was pretty close to my grandson!!

Christmas Baby

~ by terryhonstead on December 2, 2010.

3 Responses to “Christmas Baby”

  1. This is a really good article to help with skin tones – it helps me a great deal at least. http://www.studioproducts.com/demo/palettxt.html I think yours looks great though!

  2. Thanks, that is a good article. Have you ever done skin tones with watercolor? I can do them in acrylic, but with the watercolor, do you use white? I use that with acrylic, but didn’t think I should with the watercolor. Maybe that was my problem…..maybe I should have used it!

  3. I haven’t done skin tones in watercolor in a long time! But when I used to I think I just did it a little heavier than normal and yeah I think I used white too. You can always treat it like glazing with acrylic although going thick and light usually give two totally different looks. I can’t say I have ever painted light with watercolor so I’m not sure >_<! I think even that article is meant for oil painting – but it works fine for acrylic too (and hopefully watercolor).

Leave a Reply

 
